Jacobs/Bonney F1 Sidecar Champs
December 04, 2010

2010 Australian F1 Sidecar Champions Steve Bonney and Paul Jacobs.

The Adams Print Team of Shane Soutar and Jeff Howe may have won the battle, but it is Paul Jacobs and Steve Bonney who are victorious at the end of the war, claiming the 2010 Australian F1 Sidecar Championship at a picturesque Phillip Island.

Holding a 26-point Championship lead over Soutar and Howe coming into the fourth and final round of the series, the Wells Smash Repairs Team wrapped up their title win courtesy of a comfortable second position finish in the final race of the round.

A delighted Jacobs said the Championship win was a great achievement and testament to the duo’s consistency over the campaign.

Click here to listen to Paul Jacobs after winning the 2010 Australian F1 Sidecar Championship.

While Jacobs and Bonney enjoyed the spoils of the title win, it was Soutar and Howe who were the best performers of the weekend, taking out all three races for the round in impressive fashion.

The clean sweep ensures the team finished second in the Championship, 17 points behind the new titleholders.

The father-son duo of Noel and Dwight Beare came through to claim third overall for the Championship.

Motorcycling Australia TV