Australian Squad announced and ready to take on Trial des Nation
March 28, 2018

The 2018 Australian Trial des Nation (TDN) men’s and women’s teams have both been announced, before they head off to Sokolov, Czech Republic on September 22-23. Returning to defend their 2017 International Class title, the men’s team will return the same as last year with Kyle Middleton, Connor Hogan and Chris Bayles. The women’s team will include Kristie McKinnon, Sofie Kraft and Jenna Lupo.

Australia’s best trial riders will take on the world, with up to 120 riders and over 25 countries set to converge on Sokolov for the World Trial des Nations. Australia’s men’s team will return as the defending champions in the International Class for the first time and a added bit of pressure that team manager Phil Whittle welcomes.

“It will be a great thing if we can back it up again in 2018, to win it last year was a great achievement as that’s the first time we have ever won the International Class. The terrain this time around could be a little bit different, but we are hoping the terrain suits our riders.

“We do go in as one of the favourites in our class but potentially Germany will drop back and give us a run for our money, but we also have to be wary of the Czech on home soil,” finished Whittle.

The men’s team go in to the TDN full of confidence after taking out the top three spots in last weeks Australian X-trial Championship in Perth. Middleton will lead the Australian charge as the Australian Trial Championship Champion in the Solo Class.

The Women’s team will have a new look this year, with eight-time Australian Trial Championship Champion McKinnon returning to the fold after a year’s absence and Lupo will be a welcome new addition to the team in her first TDN.

Kraft is the only member of the 2017 team to return for this years TDN, and Kraft will be looking to back up her second-place finish behind McKinnon at the Australian Trial Championship.  

To keep up-to-date with all the happening from the 2018 Trial des Nations, stay tuned to the Motorcycling Australia Website or the Australian Trials Community Facebook page.

Motorcycling Australia TV