Reed and Williams nominated for inaugural TransWorld Motocross Awards
September 25, 2009

Newly-crowned AMA Motocross champion, Australia’s Chad Reed has been nominated for ‘Racer of the Year’ while X Games Gold and Silver medallist, Australia’s Blake ‘Bilko’ Williams has been nominated for ‘FMX Rider of the Year’ in the first Annual TransWorld Motocross Awards.

2009 has been a groundbreaking year for 27-year-old Reed, from Kurri Kurri in New South Wales.

Just weeks after finishing a close runner up in the AMA/World Supercross Championship, he announced his intention to campaign an entry in the national outdoors series, the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross championship.

Having never won a motocross title in his professional career, Reed mounted a dedicated attack and would go on to win the 450 class in dominant fashion.

“It’s good to be nominated for this award, I’ve had a really solid season and achieved a motocross title win which has something I’ve always wanted,” said Reed.

“Behind every racer there is a dedicated support network of team, crew, friends and family and this would be a good reward for them if I won.”

Other nominees for the award are Ryan Dungey and James Stewart.

Williams, from Baxter in country Victoria, rose to international recognition after fulfilling the goal of X Games Gold. He backed up the Freestyle Moto X win with a solid Silver medal in the Best Trick category.

The 24-year-old was a popular winner and is a fan favourite in the rapidly-expanding action sport scene.

“I’m stoked to be nominated for FMX Rider of the Year,” said Bilko. “Winning at X Games was a fantastic feeling but to be rated with the likes of (fellow nominees) Nate Adams and Robbie Maddison is an honour.

“Regardless of who wins, 2009 has been a massive year for me and I am itching to get back on the bike and work towards a bigger 2010.”

Fans can vote for Reed and Bilko in the 2009 Reader’s Choice Award category, by visiting

Winners will be announced on October 8 at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas.

Other Australian riders in the running for awards include Robbie Maddison and Jackson Strong.

Motorcycling Australia TV