Motorcycling Australia Board of Directors

Tania Lawrence (President)

Tania Lawrence is the first Western Australian elected to the role of President in the history of Motorcycling Australia and the first woman to the role.

Tania currently works at Woodside Energy Ltd , focusing on Business Development & Growth.

Tania has been riding for 25 years and, until recently, held her motorcycle race license competing in local competitions at Barbagallo Raceway.

She also supported her partner for 10 years with running the Western Australian chapter of the Honda Riders Club.

Tania has been an active contributor to motorcycle safety initiatives with the State Government through the Office of Road Safety. 

She continues to ride on track at Eastern Creek and Philip Island, and recreationally both on road and off-road participating in Trail and Enduro events as well. 


John Bolitho

John is an experienced lawyer who has practiced in Australia and South Africa, with expertise in personal injury compensation, compensation scheme design, insurance law and litigation. He also has a disability law and human rights law focus.

John has been passionate about motorcycles since childhood.

He has attended motorcycle race meetings all over the world. In his work as a lawyer, John has done his best to influence motorcycle road safety challenges positively for motorcyclists.

John is passionate about road safety and accident prevention. Where that is unachievable, he strives to ensure that those who are severely affected by road trauma are able to return to a dignified and independent existence supported by the best compensation systems countries can afford.

Leanne Knowles

Leanne has 25 years’ experience in business communications.

Since establishing Headswitch in January 2000, Leanne has worked with major brands such as PricewaterhouseCoopers, APCO Service Stations, Brotherhood of St Laurence, Telstra Shop, AFL EJ Whitten Legends Game, Skandia Geelong Week, Jon Dee’s Do Something!, Hawthorn Football Club, Price Attack, Priceline, Beacon Lighting, Gasmate, Playcorp and World Games.

Leanne has served as an Independent Director on Motorcycling Victoria’s Board and has spent 12 years as a recreational rider, in track days and road racing.

Michael Strano

Michael is the Senior Producer of Motorsport, Fox Sports Australia.

He has been the producer of On Air Broadcasts for V8 Supercars, Moto GP, World Superbike Championships, Speedway GP, Speedway World Cup and the Troy Bayliss Classic over the past 5 years.

He has a total of 30 years in television production, and is an avid rider and passionate supporter of all two-wheeled racing.

All Motorcycling Australia Board members can be contacted by emailing

Visit the MA Reports & Minutes page for all the minutes from Board of Directors meetings.

Related Links:

Please click on the following links for more information:

MA National Council

MA Board of Directors

Commissions & Committees

MA Staff

Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM)

State Controlling Bodies

Affiliated Clubs


Partners & Supporters

Motorcycling Australia TV